Virginia Department of Transportation Leadership

Click a name for biographical information.

Central Office

Commissioner: Stephen C. Brich, P.E.

Chief Deputy Commissioner: Cathy McGhee, P.E.

Chief Engineer: Barton A. Thrasher, P.E.

Deputy Chief Engineer: Shane Mann, P.E.

Chief Financial Officer: Laura Farmer

Chief of Policy: Angel Deem

Chief of Administration: Lisa M. Pride

Chief of Maintenance and Operations: Kevin Gregg


District Engineers / Administrators

Bristol: Tabitha Crowder, P.E.

Culpeper: Sean Nelson, P. E.

Fredericksburg: Marcie Parker P.E.

Hampton Roads: Christopher G. Hall P.E.

Lynchburg: Christopher L. Winstead P.E.

Northern Virginia: Bill Cuttler, P.E.

Richmond: Dale R. Totten, P.E.

Salem:  Ken H. King P.E.

Staunton: Todd Stevens P.E.

Ryan Banas, PE CCM: HRBT Expansion Project-Project Director

Organization chart with divisions PDF (PDF, 80 KB) 


The commissioner's staff is composed of six chiefs of the Virginia Department of Transportation's (VDOT) divisions, nine district administrators and an inspector general.


Page last modified: Nov. 28, 2023